NaNoWriMo ’13

Despite my own hesitancy, I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo once again. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about, NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) takes place every year in November. The goal is simple: in 30 days have written a total of 50,000 words – or approximately 1667 words a day for 30 days. That’s it. They don’t have to be written well. Your story doesn’t need to be finished. Your ‘novel’ can be made up of anything from poems to fan fiction to the next ‘Great American Novel’.

The first time (and only successful completion) I did NaNo was in 2010. It was probably the biggest project of my life and to this day the closest thing I have come to actually finishing a novel. I have several started and all in various states of chaotic messiness. My first novel I have still avoided going back to and finishing it. While I have trouble acting in this system to a completely beneficial level, it is still more progress than I make on my own most days.

At heart, I am both a perfectionist and a procrastinator! This sort of messy just jump in and write system definitely freaks me out a little, but it also allows me to put all those worries, doubts, and stresses away for a while and just work. I’m at a point in my life where everything is kind of hectic and while I probably don’t need another task to juggle, this is something that is structured and I can see tangible progress. I’m hoping that it’s just what I need to get busy again and find some confidence in that.

That being said, I have two days to come up with an idea and a feasible outline to keep me on task. See you in November!

 

http://nanowrimo.org/participants/wonderlandbaby

Leave a Reply

